Enscape vs D5 Render comes down to two published facts. Enscape‘s cheapest annual seat is $574.80. D5 Render gives every account holder a limited number of AI credits for nothing. Those two facts sit at the centre of the decision most small practices are making right now, and neither vendor’s marketing page puts them side by side.
So here’s the Enscape vs D5 Render comparison, built from what Enscape’s pricing page and D5’s AI feature page actually publish, plus what that means for a practice of two to fifteen people.
What Enscape charges, in plain numbers
Enscape sells three annual tiers, all billed per licence and all requiring a Chaos login rather than a machine-locked key. You can install on any device you sign into, which matters if your team hot-desks or works from site.
- Solo — $574.80 per year. Up to 6,700 render-ready assets, 100 Chaos AI credits a month, and roughly 5 AI-enhanced scenes, 10 Nano Banana 2 1K images and 10 AI videos monthly.
- Premium — $670.80 per year. Up to 10,000 assets, five times Solo’s Chaos credits, and roughly 25 AI scenes, 50 images and 50 videos a month.
- Enterprise — $730.80 per year. More than 18,500 assets and fifteen times Solo’s credits.
Chaos advertises the annual option as saving 45% against paying monthly, and offers a 14-day money-back guarantee. One caveat worth reading before you lean on the AI features: using AI credits voids the right to a refund, per Chaos’s own refund eligibility note.
What D5 gives away, and what it doesn’t
D5’s position is different. Its AI feature set — prompt-driven visuals from a captured view, landscape suggestions, one-click atmosphere and material generation, low-res to 4K upscaling — is available to all users, with free accounts receiving a limited number of credits to try them.
Unlimited access to those AI features is bundled into D5 Pro or D5 for Teams at no extra cost. D5 also states plainly that it does not train its models on your data, that transfers are encrypted, and that it holds ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 certification.
That last point is the one to put in front of a client who asks where their unbuilt scheme’s images live. Data governance is now a procurement question, not a technical one, and D5 has published an answer that Enscape’s pricing page doesn’t address at all.
The Enscape vs D5 Render comparison that matters
| Dimension | Enscape | D5 Render |
|---|---|---|
| Entry paid seat | $574.80/year (Solo) | D5 Pro — price not published on the AI page |
| Free option | 14-day money-back guarantee only | Free account with limited AI credits |
| AI features | Metered Chaos credits, tiered by plan | Unlimited on Pro and Teams |
| Licence portability | Any device via Chaos login | Not stated on the AI page |
| Asset library | 6,700 to 18,500+ render-ready assets | Not stated on the AI page |
| Data policy | Not stated on the pricing page | No model training; ISO 27001 and 27701 |
Read that table honestly and the shape of the decision appears. Enscape publishes a number and a guarantee. D5 publishes a policy and a free entry point. Neither page tells you which renders better on your projects, and no pricing page ever will.
Where the real cost hides
The licence is the visible line. The invisible one is the AI meter.
Enscape’s tiers are defined largely by credit volume — 100 a month on Solo, 500 on Premium, 1,500 on Enterprise. Chaos notes that credit output varies and that the scene, image and video figures are averages if all credits go to one output type. If your practice leans on AI imagery for early-stage client conversations, Solo’s 100 credits will run out, and the jump to Premium is $96 a year per seat.
D5 removes that meter on paid plans. For a practice producing concept visuals weekly rather than monthly, that’s the difference between a fixed cost and a variable one — and variable costs are what make small practices nervous when they’re pricing a fee.
What this means if you’re already in Revit or SketchUp
Both tools sit in a wider visualisation stack, and the choice isn’t made in isolation. If your models live in Autodesk Revit, the renderer that keeps you inside the BIM environment saves the export-and-reimport cycle. If you model in SketchUp, the same logic applies to whichever plugin loads without a separate scene-management step.
The field is also moving. Maxon announced in June 2026 that Redshift now integrates with Revit, with an Archicad beta open for sign-ups, storing visualisation data directly in the host software rather than in a disconnected scene file. That’s a third path, and it points the same direction: renderers are moving into the modelling tool, not beside it.
Practices already running Revit alongside Enscape or D5 Render should watch that integration rather than commit to a five-year standard today.
The decision rule
Standardise on Enscape if you need a published per-seat number for a fee proposal, you want the money-back window as a trial, and your AI usage is occasional. The portability across devices via Chaos login is a genuine advantage for a studio where people move between machines.
Standardise on D5 if your AI usage is heavy enough that a credit meter would become a budgeting problem, or if a client has asked you to document where project data is stored and how it’s protected. The published ISO certifications and the no-training statement answer that question in writing.
Don’t standardise on either yet if you’re mid-project. Run one live scheme through both on the same model and compare the output your client will actually see. The licence figures above are settled; the quality question isn’t, and no vendor page settles it for you.
Sources
- Enscape pricing — Chaos Software
- D5 AI rendering features and data policy — D5 Render
- Maxon brings Redshift for Revit and Archicad beta — press release, June 2026
122 ready-to-use AI prompts — organised by discipline and category, each copyable in one click, free and no sign-up needed. Browse the prompt library →
